80s Pop Perfection pt1

I am by nature a contrarian. I will argue day is night if the mood takes me. This does not always win me friends but it does mean that I usually like music, films etc that other people overlook.

As far as I remember, the Style Council were a bit of a running  joke for people who were brought up listening to the Jam – Weller poncing about, pretending to be French and going on about politics. Why can’t he carry on making ‘Going Underground’? What the lumpen mass of plastic mods could not get was that he took the Mod ethic to its truest ends – always look forward, never backwards.

This video is a great example of why I love them: a driving soul tune with strings, piano, the lot; a none-too-subtle political message; the beautiful Dee C Lee on backing vocals and Weller looking immaculate in Italian ‘paninaro’ style. Glorious.

Leave a Reply

